Amazon PPC Glossary of Terms

Amazon PPC Glossary

 

Ad Groups
An ad group is made up of one or more ads, a set of related keywords, and a maximum default bid. For the best results, place similar products in the same ad group.

Ad Group Name
Your ad group name will help you distinguish this ad group from others you’ll create later. This name will not appear in your advertising.

Ad Group Status
An ad group can be in one of the following states: running, incomplete, ineligible, paused, campaign paused, archived, campaign archived, campaign scheduled, campaign ended, out of budget, or payment failure.

Ad Status
An ad can be in one of the following states: running, ineligible, not in Buy Box, paused, archived, out of budget, payment failure, campaign ended, campaign paused, or campaign archived.

Advertising Cost of Sales (ACoS)
The percent of attributed sales spent on advertising. This is calculated by dividing total ad spend by attributed sales. For example, if you spent $4 on advertising resulting in attributed sales of $20, your ACoS would be 20%.

Your sales data can take up to 48 hours to populate in Campaign Manager, and as a result, ACoS is not available in the “Today” date range and may be delayed in the “Yesterday” date range.

Attributed Sales

The total product sales generated within one week of clicks on your ads. You can view the individual sales totals for advertised products and other products in the Campaign Performance report. Get report

Note: Your sales data can take up to 48 hours to populate. As a result, sales data is not available in the “Today” date range and may be delayed in the “Yesterday” date range.

Average CPC (cost-per-click)
Your total campaign spend divided by the total number of clicks the campaign generated.

Average Daily Budget
The average daily amount you are willing to spend on each campaign over a calendar month.

Bid+
We’ll raise your bids in this campaign by up to 50% more for clicks at the top of search results. Allowing us to increase your bids helps your ads better compete for impressions at the top of search results.

Campaign
A campaign is a set of ad groups under a common advertising budget. Campaigns are used to organize your products (ads) so that you can accomplish your desired business goals.

Campaign Name
Create a unique campaign name to distinguish it from other campaigns. This name doesn’t appear in your advertising.

Campaign Status
A campaign can be in one of the following states: running, paused, ended, archived, scheduled, incomplete, out of budget, or payment failure.

Campaign Targeting:

     Manual Targeting: Your ads are targeted based on the keywords you choose.

     Automatic Targeting: Amazon targets your ads to all relevant customer searches based on your product information. You can download a report of the customer search terms that resulted in clicks on your ads.

Clicks
A click is generated when a user clicks or taps your ad.

Note: Once identified, it may take up to 3 days to remove invalid clicks from your reports. Clicks from the last three days may be adjusted due to click invalidation.

Daily Budget
The amount you are willing to spend on this campaign in one day.

Default Bid
The maximum amount you are willing to pay when someone clicks your ad. This will apply to all clicks unless you set a custom bid for a specific keyword.

Estimated Total Sales
Your total sales are calculated from the sales generated from clicks on your ads for up to two weeks after those clicks occur. This includes sales of the products you advertised as well as sales of other products associated with your brand that can be attributed to those clicks. If you’re running multiple campaigns for products in your brand, we deduplicate attributed sales to avoid double reporting.

Sales attribution doesn’t reflect any order cancellations, payment failures, or returns. As a result, attributed sales may be higher than actual shipped sales. For Headline Search and Product Display ads -but not for Sponsored Products ads- total product sales includes sales fulfilled by both Amazon and third-party sellers.

Impressions
The number of times ads in this ad group were displayed. Learn more about traffic validation

Note: Once identified, it may take up to 3 days to remove invalid clicks from your reports. Clicks from the last three days may be adjusted due to click invalidation.

Keyword Bid
The maximum amount you will pay for a click when this keyword triggers your ad. Custom keyword bids will override default bids.

Keyword Status
The current status of your keyword.

Match Type
Keyword match types allow you to fine-tune which customer search queries can trigger your ads.

You can choose from broad, phrase, and exact match types. For negative keywords, you can choose from phrase and exact match types.

Negative Keyword
A type of keyword that keeps your ad from being triggered by a certain word or phrase. Your ad will not appear to anyone who searched for the word or phrase specified as a negative keyword.

Default Bid
The maximum amount you are willing to pay when someone clicks your ad. This will apply to all clicks unless you set a custom bid for a specific keyword.

Suggested Bid
Suggested bid and bid range are calculated from a group of winning bids for ads that are similar to yours. You can choose to use the suggested bid, or any bid in or outside of the bid range.

Total Spend
The total click charges accrued for your ads.

Total Ad Spend
The total click charges for a campaign.

Note: Once identified, it may take up to three days to remove invalid clicks from your spend statistics. Date ranges that include spend from the last three days may be adjusted due to click and spend invalidation.

 

 

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